Zimbabwe Identity Card

Country name:
~ conventional long form: Republic of Zimbabwe
~ conventional short form: Zimbabwe
Area: 390,580 sq km
Coastline: 0 km (landlocked)
Highest point: Inyangani 2,592 m
Population: 12,746,990
Density: 32/km2
Population growth rate: 0.51%
Official Language: English
Religions: syncretic 50%, Christian 25%, indigenous beliefs 24%, Muslim and other 1%
Government type: parliamentary democracy
Capital: Harare
GDP - per capita: $1,900
Inflation rate: 133%
Currency (code): Zimbabwean dollar (ZWD)
Vehicle Country Id-Code: ZW
Calling code: +263
Internet country code: .zw
Time Zone: + 2.0 H


Victoria waterfall

Zimbabwe proves to be an excellent safari destination alive with the chatter of acrobatic monkeys and colourful tropical birds. Immerse yourself in the water spray of the grand Victoria Falls, trek the Inyanga mountains or simply cruise down the Limpopo River, adventure opportunities are galore in this country. Located in the southern part of the African continent, most of the topography of Zimbabwe comprises of a rolling plateau. The country lies between the Zambezi River in the North and the Limpopo River to the south and the wide and sandy plains in the basins of the rivers take a major part of the terrain.
Khoisan peoples were the earliest settlers of Zimbabwe and were followed by Bantu, Shona, Nguni and Zulu people. The British explorers were the first foreign colonists to arrive in the country around 1850s. The massive influx of foreigners for copper mining led to the establishment of the territory Rhodesia, named after Cecil Rhodes of the British South Africa Company. In 1923, it became British colony of Southern Rhodesia. It joined a federation with Northern Rhodesia (now Zambia) and Nyasaland (now Malawi) in the post–World War II period. Southern Rhodesia or present-day Zimbabwe declared its independence from Britain on November 11, 1965 and formally proclaimed to be a republic on March 1, 1970.




Copyright 2007 AllCountries.eu. All right reserved.