Wallis and Futuna Identity Card

Country name:
~ conventional long form: Territory of the Wallis and Futuna Islands
~ conventional short form: Wallis and Futuna
~ local long form: Territoire des Iles Wallis et Futuna
~ local short form: Wallis et Futuna
Area: 274 sq km
Coastline: 129 km
Highest point: Mont Singavi 765 m
Population: 16,025
Density: 58/km2
Languages: Wallisian, Futunian and French
Religions: Roman Catholic 99%, other 1%
Government type: overseas territory of France
Capital: Mata-Utu
GDP - per capita: $3,800
Currency (code): Comptoirs Francais du Pacifique franc (XPF)
Vehicle Country Id-Code: F
Calling code: +681
Internet country code: .wf
Time Zone: + 12.0 H


Wallis and Futuna Islands are one of the few places on Earth where you can de-stress, feel comfortable and truly relax amidst the fascinating ambience and friendly spirit of the islanders. From beautiful beaches on the east coast to rumbling volcanoes in the centre, tourists are pampered with abundant natural treasures here. Located in the South Pacific Ocean under the Polynesian realm of the Oceania continent, Wallis and Futuna is a French overseas collection. Initially inhabited by ancient Polynesians, Wallis and Futuna were first introduced to the world by the Dutch and the British explorers in the 17th and 18th centuries. However, French were the first foreigners to settle in these islands. The French protectorate was established on February 16, 1888 but by 1959 the inhabitants of the islands voted to become a French overseas territory. It was freed from the subordination to New Caledonia and came to be known as Territory of Wallis and Futuna Islands.
Wallis and Futuna are made up of the main volcanic islands of Uvea or Wallis, Futuna and Alofi. The highest point of the region is Mont Singavi on the island of Futuna that stands at 765 m (2,510 feet). The islands experience tropical climates and have a small amount of arable land.




Copyright 2007 AllCountries.eu. All right reserved.