Kyrgyzstan Identity Card

Country name:
~ conventional long form: Kyrgyz Republic
~ conventional short form: Kyrgyzstan
~ local long form: Kyrgyz Respublikasy

Area: 198,500 sq km
Coastline: 0 km (landlocked)
Highest point: Jengish Chokusu (Pik Pobedy) 7,439 m
Population: 5,146,281
Density: 25/km2
Population growth rate: 1.29%
Official Languages: Kyrgyz and Russian
Religions: Muslim 75%, Russian Orthodox 20%, other 5%
Government type: republic
Capital: Bishkek
GDP - per capita: $1,700
Inflation rate: 3.2%
Currency (code): Kyrgyzstani Som (KGS)
Vehicle Country Id-Code: KS
Calling code: +996
Internet country code: .kg
Time Zone: + 5.0 H

Kyrgyzstan provides the most welcoming retreat far away from the bustle of city life to explore and admire the extraordinary wonders of the land. Untainted by the excesses of modern life, the country has retained an aura of a bygone age and offers great natural beauty. Located in Central Asia, the topography Kyrgyzstan is dominated by the mountainous region of the Tian Shan. In fact, Tian Shan is the second largest mountain lake in the world. These regions experience heavy snowfalls but the southwestern Fergana Valley reels under hot subtropical climate. Kyrgyzstan has one exclave of Barak, a tiny village, in Uzbek territories and alternatively shelters four Uzbek enclaves within its boundaries.
The native Kyrgyz people were traditionally pastoral nomads who settled over the country. The territory was occupied and formally annexed by the Russian Empire in 1876 and Kyrgyzstan became part of the Soviet Federated Socialist Republic in 1924. After being designated as an autonomous republic in 1926, Kyrgyzstan proclaimed its independence from the Soviet Union on August 31, 1991 and few months later joined the Commonwealth of Independent States.

Burana tower



Copyright 2007 AllCountries.eu. All right reserved.