Guyana Identity Card

Country name:
~ conventional long form: Co-operative Republic of Guyana
~ conventional short form: Guyana
Area: 214,970 sq km
Coastline: 459 km
Highest point: Mount Roraima 2,835 m
Population: 765,283
Density: 3/km2
Population growth rate: 0.26%
Languages: English, Amerindian dialects, Creole, Hindi, Urdu
Religions: Christian 50%, Hindu 35%, Muslim 10%, other 5%
Government type: republic within the Commonwealth
Capital: Georgetown
GDP - per capita: $3,800
Inflation rate: 4.5%
Currency (code): Guyanese dollar (GYD)
Vehicle Country Id-Code: GUY
Calling code: +592
Internet country code: .gy
Time Zone: - 3.0 H


Guyana is a mesmerising land of exotic equatorial rainforests where vast tracks of untamed wilderness await the adventurous travellers. If the grotesque biodiversity is not enough for you, immerse yourself to discover the legend of El Dorado, taste the exclusive Demerara sugar and rum or simply cherish the exquisite piece of work on wood by the locals. Nestling on the northeast part of South America, Guyana is also known as the Land of Many Waters, due to its huge collection of free flowing water bodies, the enormous Kaieteur Falls being the most famous of them all. In fact, the topography of Guyana follows an ascending order. Starting from the low-lying North Atlantic coastlines to the flat and fertile rainforest in the middle, it ends with the heights of part of the Pakaraima range in the extreme interiors.
Officially addressed as the Co-operative Republic of Guyana, it was once inhabited by indigenous Amerindian tribes. During the 17th century reign of the Dutch forces, it was divided into three separated colonies of Berbice, Demerara and Essequibo, which became British Guiana in 1831. Guyana gained full independence on May 26, 1966 and became a Republic in 1970. It is also a founder member of the Caribbean Community (CARICOM) and houses two of the WWF's Global 200 ecoregions in the world.




Copyright 2007 AllCountries.eu. All right reserved.