French Polynesia Identity Card

Country name:
~ conventional long form: Overseas Lands of French Polynesia
~ conventional short form: French Polynesia
~ local long form: Pays d'outre-mer de la Polynesie Francaise
~ local short form: Polynesie Francaise
Area: 4,167 sq km
Coastline: 2,525 km
Highest point: Mont Orohena 2,241 m
Population: 270,485
Density: 64/km2
Population growth rate: 1.52%
Official Languages: French and Polynesian
Religions: Protestant 54%, Roman Catholic 30%, other 10%, no religion 6%
Government type: overseas lands of France
Capital: Papeete
GDP - per capita: $17,500
Inflation rate: 1.5%
Currency (code): Comptoirs Francais du Pacifique franc (XPF)
Vehicle Country Id-Code: F
Calling code: +689
Internet country code: .pf
Time Zone: - 10.0 H


French Polynesia is a land of spellbinding beauty and enchantment where the exotic images of nature and enticing fragrance of flowers embraces your senses. From the sparkling white sands by the beautiful turquoise green lagoon water to the overwhelming sound of the breaking waves by the Pacific shores, this nation is a nature’s paradise in true sense. French Polynesia might be a little known destination but it excels as a perfect tropical getaway and the most romantic honeymoon vacation. Relax by an atoll or offshore coral islets, take a stroll within the high-rise palm trees and lush jungles, enjoy a coconut drink at the busy night bazaars; opportunities for rejuvenation are galore in this island nation. The soaring silhouette of Morea islands, the atolls of Bora Bora and the warm smiles of friendly Tahitians mark the characteristics of French Polynesia. Tourists to this amazing destination should not miss out the opportunities of scuba diving and snorkelling where you rub shoulders with shoals of colourful sea fish. People with strong heart can also brave the shark dives to view this astounding sea creature from a yards distance.

Palm trees on Moorea

French Polynesia is a group of about 118 islands located on the eastern part of the South Pacific Ocean. Geographically they are located halfway between California of United States of America and Australia. The islands of French Polynesia are part of the Polynesian archipelago. The islands and islets are sprinkled over an area of more than 2,500,000 sq km (965,255 sq. miles) amidst the ocean. The capital city of the country is Papeete that is situated on Tahiti Island. French Polynesia consists of several groups of islands, which includes Austral Islands, Bass Islands, Gambier Islands, Marquesas Islands, Society Islands and Tuamotu Archipelago. Apart from these main landforms other small islets and atolls include Bora Bora, Hiva `Oa, Huahine, Maiao, Maupiti, Mehetia, Moorea, Nuku Hiva, Raiatea, Tahaa, Tetiaroa, Tubuai, and Tupai. Tahiti Island is part of the Society Island group and is the most largest and populated of them all. The total land area of French Polynesia combining all the inhabited and uninhabited islands stand at 4,167 sq km (1,622 sq. miles). The country displays typical tropical weather conditions with rainfall and humidity but the heat wave here is moderated by the cool breezes of the Pacific. Overall, the climate here is sunny and pleasant.

Bora Bora Lagoon

French Polynesia has maintained a strong connection with the French land all along the history, starting from its name to political and administrative structure. The islands were annexed by France in mid-eighteenth century when it was inhabited by indigenous Maoris and Polynesians. French Polynesia was recognised as an overseas territory of France in 1946. Then it was granted the status of French "overseas collectivity" with the particular designation of "overseas country" in 2003. The Pacific Nuclear Test Centre was installed by French authorities on the atoll of Mururoa and in 1966 it sparked worldwide protest. In next few decades it was withdrawn and the government of France paid compensation to French Polynesian authorities for the ecological damages.
The more or less stable economy of French Polynesia survives on agriculture, imported goods, tourism, and the financial assistance of mainland France. Even politically, the French president is considered to be the chief of state for the country. The head of government is the president of the Territorial Government of French Polynesia who works with a Council of Ministers. The unicameral legislative body of Territorial Assembly or Assemblee Territoriale has 57 seats members who are elected by popular vote to serve five-year terms.




Copyright 2007 AllCountries.eu. All right reserved.