Fiji Identity Card

Country name:
~ conventional long form: Republic of the Fiji Islands
~ conventional short form: Fiji
Area: 18,270 sq km
Coastline: 1,129 km
Highest point: Tomanivi 1,324 m
Population: 893,354
Density: 48/km2
Population growth rate: 1.4%
Official Language: English
Religions: Christian 52%, Hindu 38%, Muslim 8%, other 2%
Government type: republic
Capital: Suva
GDP - per capita: $5,900
Inflation rate: 1.6%
Currency (code): Fijian dollar (FJD)
Vehicle Country Id-Code: FJI
Calling code: +679
Internet country code: .fj
Time Zone: + 12.0 H


Navua Valley

Fiji is an exotic South Pacific destination embraced by long white beaches, quiet waters of a turquoise lagoon and giant rainbow gardens of soft coral. From the dolphins gliding by your boat sides to the rare collection of flora and fauna, this sub tropical nation is never in shortage of surprise elements. However it is the warm and ever-smiling Fijian people who take away all the credit to make your stay memorable in the country. The Fijian culture is an intricate weaving of indigenous Polynesian and Melanesian populace with immigrant Indians who are now part of the ethnic race. This multi cultural background of the country is evident from the fact that it has three official languages, which are English, Bau Fijian and Hindusthani.
Fiji is basically a conglomeration of 322 islands and 522 smaller islets. However, only 106 islands of this archipelago are inhabited and majority of the population is centred on the two major lands of Viti Levu and Vanua Levu. Suva, on the island of Viti Levu, is the capital of Fiji. The other important islands are Taveuni, Kadavu, Koro, Gau, Ovalau, the Lau group, the Yasawa and Mamanuca groups. The town of Nadi is home to the international airport of Fiji and Lautoka, Labasa and Savusavu are other urban addresses of the island nation. The terrain of Fiji is made of volcanic disposition and mountain ranges scatter all over the place. Most of these hillocks rise to an average height of up to 1200 meters. Dense tropical rain forests and sugarcane plantation are the main vegetation of Fiji. The climate of the country is typical to sub tropical features that consist of sunny days nearly round the year and high level of humidity. Fiji experiences heavy rains that scale up to 304 cm or 120 inches annually.

A shallow reef in Fiji islands

Fiji had been inhabited since the second millennium B.C., by indigenous Polynesian and Melanesian ancestry. Navigators such as Abel Tasman, James Cook and William Bligh touched the shores of Fiji in the 17th and 18th centuries. However, European settlement started in nineteenth century and was explored gradually by the Dutch and the British. In 1874 the tribal population of Fiji agreed to cession and it was proclaimed a possession and dependency of the British Crown. In the 1880s large-scale cultivation of sugarcane brought prosperity for Fiji and it witnessed huge influx of labourers from India. They were brought to the island to work for the plantations and gradually formed major part of the Fijian population. The racial conflict between Indians and the indigenous Fijians has been central event to the small island's history. Fiji became independent on October 10, 1970 but the ride of democracy was interrupted in the country in two military coups during 1987. Efforts were made to oust the Indian domination from socio-political scenario.
Fiji maybe a small country in terms of area but has one of the most highly developed economies of the Pacific regions. Tourism and sugarcane production are the mainstay of the economy and brings along the highest amount of export earnings. However, the services sector accounts for over sixty percent of the country's Gross Domestic Product (GDP).
Fiji is governed under a constitution and the president heads the executive body of the country. He is elected by the Great Council of Chiefs for a five-year term and appoints the prime minister. The Cabinet is appointed by the prime minister from among the members of Parliament. The Fijian parliament is a bicameral one that consists of a 71-member House of Representatives and 32-members strong Senate. All the members serve five years in parliament.




Copyright 2007 AllCountries.eu. All right reserved.