Equatorial Guinea Identity Card

Country name:
~ conventional long form: Republic of Equatorial Guinea
~ conventional short form: Equatorial Guinea
~ local long form: Republica de Guinea Ecuatorial
~ local short form: Guinea Ecuatorial
Area: 28,051 sq km
Coastline: 296 km
Highest point: Pico Basile 3,008 m
Population: 535,881
Density: 19/km2
Population growth rate: 2.42%
Official Languages: Spanish and French
Religions: nominally Christian and predominantly Roman Catholic
Government type: republic
Capital: Malabo
GDP - per capita: $2,700
Inflation rate: 8.5%
Currency (code): Communaute Financiere Africaine franc (XAF)
Vehicle Country Id-Code: GQ
Calling code: +240
Internet country code: .gq
Time Zone: + 1.0 H


Equatorial Guinea is home to some fascinating natural landscapes and vital traditional aesthetics. Although it is one of the smallest countries of Africa, Equatorial Guinea is a country that treasures extraordinary cultural richness to captivate your senses. Resting on the west coast of Africa, the nation shares a significant shoreline along the right of Biafra of the North Atlantic Ocean. The territory of Equatorial Guinea consists of the islands of Bioko, Annobón, Corisco, Elobey Grande, Elobey Chico and adjacent islets. Among them, the island of Bioko is formed from three extinct volcanoes. The rest of the mainland of Equatorial Guinea, better known as the continental region of Rio Muni, comprises of coastal plains rising to interior thickly forested hillocks of the Crystal Mountains. As the name suggests, Equatorial Guinea enjoys proximity to both Equator and Gulf of Guinea.
Off late, Equatorial Guinea has emerged as one of sub-Saharan Africa's biggest oil producers after large oil and gas deposits were discovered off Bioko in the mid-1990s. Originally inhabited by Pygmies, the country became home to migrating Bantu tribes in the 17th century. The main island of Bioko was discovered by Portuguese explorer Fernando Po in 15th century and was named after him. Except brief British occupation from 1827 to 1844, Spain ruled the region all along. Spanish Guinea, as it was then called, gained independence from Spain on October 12, 1968. Equatorial Guinea is Africa's only Spanish-speaking country.




Copyright 2007 AllCountries.eu. All right reserved.